offers area's largest white sand swimming beach, fishing, boating, picnic
shelters, volleyball, nature trails, scenic mountain settings.
●Hawksbill Recreation Park
A 28 acre serene
park facility offering volleyball, horseshoes, softball, swimming, 3 picnic
shelters, and banquet room.
Half acre petting
zoo with pygmy goats, tame deer, donkeys, llamas. Exotic wild animals.
Virginia's largest reptile collection. Alligators, tropical birds.
The official name of the Luray Singing Tower is the
"Belle Brown Northcott Memorial." This contains a carillon of 47 bells
and was given as a gift to the town of Luray by the late Col. T.C. Northcott
and his his daughter, Mrs. Katherine Northcott Graves, in Memory of Col.
Northcott's wife, Belle Brown Northcott. It was dedicated in 1937. Free, live concerts.
National Park (540) 999-3500
While visiting Page County, be sure to take time to
visit Shenandoah National Park. Whether you like hiking or
sightseeing, Shenandoah National Park has a myriad of activities for which
you can participate. Shenandoah National Park covers around 300 square
miles or 197,389 acres! The highest peak in the Park is 4,000 feet.
You will take many memories home with you, such as those of exquisite
waterfalls, interesting wildlife, a breathtaking sunset or a wonderful hike.
More than 100 varieties of trees, 1,100 species of plants, and 200 species
of birds inhabit the Shenandoah National Enjoy fine dining and lodging
in Shenandoah National Park, also. Admission fee is $10 per car for a
7 day pass. For more information, call (540)
999-3500 or visit
www.nps.gov/shen for the official website of Shenandoah National
This school was in use from 1875-1937. The one-room
school was moved from its original site in 1972, and was restored and
furnished. Inside the schoolhouse are sixteen original double desks, a cast
iron stove dating back at least one hundred years, a handmade teacher's desk
and chair, an 1880 school house bell and numerous photos and
mementoes. A flag pole used during the Civil War stands outside the
school. Open by appointment only.
Grove Mill at Old Mundellsville, located at the west branch
of the Hawksbill Creek is typical of flour mills found in the Page County
area in the late 1800's and early 1900's. The place is now known as
Willow Grove Mill. Flour was produced here from about 1885 to 1943.
The Willow Grove Mill is located on US Hwy 340 South toward Stanley.
Cottage This was the original office of Shenandoah Land
and Improvement Company during the 1800's railroad boom. It was
later used as a printing office and after that a private school. The
cottage was purchased by Mary & Edna Stevens, who were sisters, as a private
residence in 1902. After their death, the cottage was purchased by the
Shenandoah Heritage Center in 1974 and is listed on the Virginia Historic
and National Historic Landmarks Registry. The cottage serves a satellite
office for the Chamber of Commerce during the summer and fall months.
Stevens Cottage is located in Shenandoah.
Take a stroll back in time by visiting this
refurbished country store. Experience the outing of going shopping in rural
Page County in the 1940's. The store was established in the early 1900's.
Located on Hamburg Road in Luray. Open Saturdays from Memorial to
Labor Day 10:00-4:00 p.m. or by appointment.
Calendine was built in 1840 for a gentleman by the name of Townsend Young,
who ran a general store and stagecoach stop.
Calendine is best known as the residence of the renowned Barbee family.
William Randolph Barbee (1818-1868) was famed as a classic sculptor. His
work was highly praised, and Mr. Barbee was commissioned to complete the
frieze on the west wing of the U.S. Capitol. However, the outbreak of the
Civil War interrupted his work on the U.S. Capitol and he was never able to
resume. Calendine was acquired in 1988 by the Page County Heritage
Association. It is presently being used as the Page County Heritage
Museum. Calendine is located on Hamburg Road in Luray.
Confederate Monument William Randolph Barbee's (see
Calendine above) son, Herbert Barbee, (1848-1936) was a renowned sculptor
like his father. He studied Art in Italy and returned to America,
where he had numerous studios, one of which was in Luray, located in the
adjacent store to Calendine. His legacy to Page County is the Confederate
Monument. It was unveiled on July 21, 1898. The Confederate
Monument is located on East Main Street in Luray.
Monument This 25 foot obelisk of native Massanutten
sandstone w3as erected in 1929 in memory of the first settlers in the area.
It is located on US Hwy 211 W.
Outfitters, Inc. (540) 743-4159
Canoe! Tube! Fish, Swim, Sun, Fun! Canoe, Tube and Kayak rentals for flat
water to beginner whitewater on the beautiful Shenandoah River.
Transportation and map included. Lunches and steak dinners by reservation.
Tent campground, cabin rental and overnight canoeing available.
County Courthouse The County of Page was established in
March of 1831. The first Court was held on May 23, 1831. Two
months later, a tract of land was deeded from Gabriel Jordon for a new
courthouse and jail. The courthouse was completed on December 23,
1833. It is listed on the Virginia Historic Landmarks Register.
Train Station at Luray The Railway Station at Luray was
built by the Shenandoah Valley Railway Company during the late 1800's.
It is currently under restoration.
Furnace Was named after Catherine Forrer, who's family
owned the iron works around the town of Shenandoah. It is one of the
best preserved remnants of the charcoal-fired iron industry. Catherine
Furnace supplied metal for nails, horseshoes, farm implements and other
items important to the surrounding region and helped supply the gun works at
Harpers Ferry, was credited with shot and shell used in the Mexican campaign
of 1846-1848, and Catherine's product was used in the service of the
Confederacy in the Civil War. Catherine Furnace is located off of US
Hwy 340 South in Shenandoah.
own Business Website here
Luray.net for only $96/year!
Call (540) 860-1393